Hello everyone.  Hope all is well for you and your families.

Today, Nikki and I were scheduled to perform a session of the Kettlebell Burn program we purchased from Geoff Neupert, Master RKC.  Nikki is doing great and was ready for the program.  Myself on the other hand was coming off some low back/SI joint pain from playing sand volleyball last week.

Most people do one of two extremes when faced with this sort of problem:

  1. They don’t do any sort of workout and take anti-inflammatories and rest.  MAYBE ice.  The pain may improve but the dysfunction remains.
  2. They do the workout anyways and push through any pain that may arrive and suffer the consequences in the following days after (usually can end in a visit to the doctor or chiropractor)

Now for me and my understanding how my Functional Movement Screen Score goes, I knew what exercises I could do and what needed to be modified.

Here is how our program was laid out and what Nikki did:

  • Clean and Press Ladder (1,2,3) for time
  • Version of TGU for reps each side followed by reverse lunge each side for reps for a specific period of time
  • Swings for time

Now here is what I did instead:

Warm Up

  • Checked shoulder mobility and cleared thoracic rotation
  • Noticed that hip flexors were dynamically tight, performed 1/2 kneeling hip flexor stretch followed by cook hip lift

Clean and Press Ladder

  • Performed 10kg press ladder in tall kneeling position
  • Performed 5 wall push ups outlined in convict conditioning
    • Repeated the process for the remaining period, tried one set of clean and press to 3 with 16kg which felt “ok” so returned to tall kneeling position for presses
    • You think this would be easy but I was sweating bullets due to the fact that I really had to concentrate on getting my hips and trunk stable for the press without falling on my face

TGU version and reverse lunges

  • I did 5 reps of get up to elbow each side really concentrating on proper form and not “plopping” down at the end.  I tried my best to do what Gray Cook says by “owning the movement”
  • Followed that with 1/2 kneeling hip flexor stretch for 5 breaths from relax into stretch
  • Reverse lunge 5 reps per side with KB in goblet position
    • If this exercise would have caused any problems in my back I definitely would have thrown it out
  • Brettzel each side
    • Repeated the whole process for the prescribed time

Swings

  • Performed the following in alternating fashion
    • static stomp deadlift (averaged about 7) with 20kg
    • regular swings (avg 15) with 16kg)

Was it a smoker of a workout?  Heck no, it was not meant to be (remember I made it corrective instead of conditioning).  But I did break a good sweat, felt good that I did something and I walked out of the workout feeling much better than coming in.

If you want to learn more about the FMS, Dragon Door has a terrific DVD set that covers the whole CK-FMS progressions.  There are also seminars available to sign up for FMS seminar events as well through perform better.  If you would like to learn more about the Turkish Get Up corrections check out Kalos Sthenos.

Also, check out Geoff Neupert’s new book, KETTLEBELL MUSCLE – The Secrets to Compound Lifting. I have been able to see a taste of the book when Nikki and I were test subjects for Geoff and it is a terrific strength and conditioning workout!

Comments
  1. Max Shank says:

    Great stuff, Mark.
    Tall kneeling and half kneeling have become staples for me after not even being able to hold a half kneeling posture at CK-FMS without my quad catching fire.
    Try mixing correctives with parkour (jumping, vaulting, climbing, handstands, rolling), it’s really fun and I have this feeling that it really lends itself to using the movement you get from the correctives in a natural way.

    I agree, and think that the whole “feeling better” concept is painfully underappreciated.

Leave a Reply

