Kettlebell Muscle

Hello everyone.  Has been a very busy end of winter and spring for us here at SG Human Performance so I apologize for it being so long since I have last posted anything.  I just recently finished reading Geoff Neupert’s Book “Kettlebell Muscle” and decided to give all of you a little taste of what is in store for you.

As you know I am a HUGE fan of anything Geoff puts out on the market because, IT WORKS!  Geoff is the master of programming as we have already blogged about with his Kettlebell Burn Program.  As a matter of fact the Kettlebell Burn program is a fantastic program for fat loss, gaining strength, and as preparation for the RKC.  I have used many of the burn workouts with great success towards their goals.  But enough about Burn you can read that post if you would like.  Today I am here to talk about MUSCLE!

The forward by Dan John alone should show anyone that Geoff knows what he is talking about and can put it down on paper.  Geoff explains in detail the science and reasoning behind his program.  The great thing about Geoff is that his explanations are in English and they make total sense.

Geoff also provides the idea and science behind complexes and chains and how these workouts convert you into a strong individual with increased muscle.  He also provides the following:

  • 13 benefits to using Complexes and Chains.
  • Breaksdown all the double kettlebell exercises that are in the program
  • Provides nutritional advice to help with the muscle building process
  • AND then breaks down the program details from Weeks 1-6 & Weeks 7-12

What more could you ask for?  As of right now I have not started the program as of yet but will here this Spring/Summer.  The reason you ask?  I need to prepare myself for a proper strength foundation before beginning this program.  I was, however,  fortunate enough to attend last years Summit of Strength event where Geoff presented some of his Kettlebell Muscle Programming and we drilled all the double kettlebell exercises for the program.  It was fantastic and I was blown away by how the double kettlebell exercises taxed myself.  He was even gracious enough to work with me individually to improve my squat :).

Here is MY suggestions of prerequisites before beginning Kettlebell Muscle

1.  Have a very good understanding of kettlebell training

  • I am biased, but being trained by an RKC (or have had a few sessions with an RKC) to make sure you have a good foundation on technique is a must before beginning this program

2.  You are currently asymmetry free and pain free

  • Got a nagging injury?  Take care of it first!  You should know by now how important it is to have balance in your life and that includes your body and your training regimen.  You should seek out a CK-FMS professional to make sure your body is in balance and ready for the density of the loading for this program (OR ANY PROGRAM FOR THAT MATTER!)

3.  You should have completed the Enter the Kettlebell Rite of Passage

  • Just a nice prerequisite to prepare for the program.  Performing and completing Kettlebell Burn would be a bonus as well.  (Can’t say enough about BURN!)

There you have it.  Right now I am in the stage of cleaning up some issues with my body and completing another round of ROP with a 24kg to help prepare myself for the Kettlebell Muscle Program.  More to come as I will take measurements and pics before, during and after the Kettlebell Muscle Program.

I hope all of you are training well and training smart.  Until next time, I wish you all well in your lives.

Leave a Reply

